Surface and Orbit Authority

Draft Proposal: Game Lifecycle

This is a draft proposal for how we decide to end a game, and how to start a new game. To summarize the idea in plain English:

No more frequently than once a week, and only when called for, we vote on whether to end the game. If we decide to end it, then we vote on create the new game, setting up the scenario however they want, and coordinates with whoever’s running the server to get it going.

I’ve never done this before, so I’m sure I’ve messed up the format or something. :slightly_smiling_face:

Title: SOA Got Game
Adoption Index: 2.0

Add the sections to the end of the article titled “Servers”:

The Game Author

The Game Author is an office, responsible for creating a new game for the purposes of Starting a Game.

The Game Author’s duties include:

1. Providing the Space Master with a save game file and, optionally, any server configuration parameters not defined by the Official Configuration.

2. Verifying that the Official Server is successfully running as their authoring intended, and any communication/coordination with the Space Master necessary to accomplish this.

3. Sending a public message declaring that the game has been started. The Game Author implicitly vacates the office by doing this.

Two weeks after the election, the Game Author resigns. If the duties have not all been fulfilled, a new election for Game Author is initiated.

Ending a Game

This article has a power of 2.

When any member desires to end the game, they must send a public message that clearly identifies the Official Server, and that they would like to end the game. Members then vote on ending the game. Votes “FOR” are votes for ending the game. Votes “AGAINST” are votes to continue the game. This decision has an adoption index of 1

If the vote outcome is “FOR”, then a Game Author is elected. No immediate changes are made to the Official Server, unless otherwise specified.

Title: Space Master Additional Duties